AAUP Georgina M. Smith Award

April 26, 2019 / Heather Nahmias

Congratulations to PSU's Professor Jennifer Kerns who was chosen as a joint recipient of AAUP's 2019 Georgina M. Smith Award.

The award, established in 1979 to honor Professor Georgina M. Smith who was a committed feminist and strong supporter of her local faculty union, is presented "to a person who has provided exceptional leadership in the past year in improving the status of academic women or in advancing collective bargaining and through that work has improved the profession in general" (see for a complete description of the award and past recipients).

AAUP has recognized Kerns' work on behalf of women and our academic class. She recently put together two successful PSU-AAUP events involving women and minority issues; Addressing Hidden Labor: Recognize, Retain and Reward Women, LGBTQ, and People of Color at PSU, and Why Caregiver Leave Matters, regarding America's family leave crisis. 

Kerns will accept the award in person at the ceremony in Virginia.  

Blog Categories