Oregon Election Results

November 17, 2020 / PSU-AAUP

by Michael Dreilling, President, AAUP-Oregon

November 5, 2020

As expected in Oregon, Democrats won all statewide races, including:

  • Secretary of State: Shemia Fagan
  • State Treasurer: Tobias Reed
  • Attorney General: Ellen Rosenblum
  • Senator: Jeff Merkley

Democrats Suzanne Bonamici, Earl Blumenauer, Peter DeFazio, and Kurt Schrader all won re-election to the U.S. House of Representatives while Republican Cliff Bentz was elected into the seat vacated by Representative Greg Walden. 

The balance in the Oregon Senate will remain unchanged at 18 Democrats and 12 Republicans, with each party flipping one seat. Dick Anderson (R-SD 5) will fill the seat vacated by Arnie Roblan, and Deb Patterson has unseated incumbent Denyc Boles (R-SD 10). Republicans netted one seat in the Oregon House where Democrats will now hold a 37-23 super majority. We are already beginning our efforts to connect with newly elected legislators to introduce them to AAUP Oregon and educate them on our priority issues.
Oregon voters approved all four of this year’s ballot measures. These ballot measures:

  • Measure 107: limits campaign contributions and spending, requires the disclosure of political contributions and spending, and requires that political ads disclose who paid for them;
  • Measure 108: increases the tax on tobacco products and expands the tax to include vaping products. The new law will generate $130 million for statewide health-related programs;
  • Measure 109: allows for therapeutic use of psilocybin, after a two-year development period; and
  • Measure 110: decriminalizes possession of small amounts of controlled substances while directing funding to rehabilitation services.

Blog Categories