Oregon now alone in allowing non-unanimous jury convictions

November 13, 2018 / Sabrina Balderama


By Shane Dixon Kavanaugh

November 7, 2018

Oregon is now the only state to allow non-unanimous jury verdicts after voters in Louisiana approved a constitutional amendment to end their system of split-verdict convictions.

For decades, juries in both states had been allowed to convict most felony defendants with a 10-2 vote, though Oregon still requires a unanimous vote to find defendants guilty of murder.

Read the full article here.

Blog Categories